Email: melinda@tropicalwriting.com.au     Phone Number AU: 0400703836
Follow Us

#76 Where Do Stories Come From? Writing Sagas, with Jean Grainger

The Irish are born storytellers and Indie author, Jean Grainger, is no exception. Following in the tradition of Maeve Binchy, Jean’s sagas span centuries and wars, exploring friendships and family ties. If your heart is broken it hurts, Jean says, a theme embedded in all her stories. With three novels published and one on the way, Jean is a natural. By day she teaches poetry to teenage boys and for the rest of the time she writes, sometimes up to 20,000 words a week, discovering her passion for writing whilst in the midst of a Phd on Irish Women in WW2. She ditched dry academia and used her research to So Much Owed, the second of her published novels. Her first, The Tour, took its inspiration from her job as a tour guide in County Cork. Married to her historian husband and living in a cottage in the Irish countryside, Jean is currently immersed in preparing book number four, Under Heaven’s Shining Stars, for release. You can find out more about Jean and her writing life here.

About the author, Melinda

I'm an authorpreneur, English teacher and podcaster who dreams of a life on the road full of adventures and handsome heroes, whilst making squizillions of dollars in book sales to pay for my chocolate fix. In the real world, I write novels and non-fiction, and offer my expert advice via online courses (as soon as I make them) and writing retreats (as soon as I organise them).

Leave a Comment